RSS

Book Review: The Hunger Games

22 Mar

I actually read the first book in the Hunger Games trilogy two summers ago.  However, with the release of the movie tomorrow (I have tickets for a 10 a.m. showing!) I thought it the perfect time to promote this fantastic book!

In a futuristic world of North America, Katniss must fight to the death in order to survive the Hunger Games and provide her family and district with the food and money it desperately needs.  The annual Hunger Games, a televised event watched by all, are a punishment to the districts for a rebellion attempted years ago.  Now each year a boy and a girl from the twelve districts are chosen to compete by surviving in the wild in a gladiator-style fight.  Will Katniss survive on her own?  Will she be able to kill Peeta, the boy from her district who once saved her family from starving?  This book is a fast paced and filled with, not only suspense, but questions about political tyranny, love and friendship.

“The Hunger Games” is by far my favorite book in the trilogy, but I highly recommend reading all three books.  I have to admit one of my favorite aspects of this book is the enticing love triangle (also why I loved the Twilight Saga) that is set up between Katniss, Peeta and Gale.  I happened to read this book while in the middle of my graduate program for Library Science so I have an extensive amount of materials I created to accompany this book.  Check out my practicum website to find a week-long Hunger Games Program for Middle School, readers advisory, and a book talk accompanied by a promotional Glog.
Title:  The Hunger Games
Author:  Suzanne Collins
Publisher:  Scholastic
ISBN:  9780439023481
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
